Includi: nessuno dei seguenti filtri
× Nomi Patterson, James
Includi: tutti i seguenti filtri
× Paese Stati Uniti d'America
× Lingue Inglese

Trovati 19 documenti.

The Sacco Gang
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Camilleri, Andrea

The Sacco Gang / Andrea Camilleri ; traslated by Stephen Santarelli

New York : Europa, 2018

Abstract: A "wild west" tale of two brothers who battle both the state and a mafia empire in 1920s Italy, from famed Italian author Andrea Camilleri. Raffadali, province of Agrigento, 1920s. The Sacco brothers are free men with strong ideas about socialism and the State. Their lives change radically one morning when their father, Luigi Sacco, receives an anonymous letter from the local Mafia demanding protection money and is the victim of a robbery attempt. Luigi tells the police of the extortion letters he received, but the police don't know what to do: no one in the village has ever dared denounce the Mafia before. From that moment on, the Sacco brothers must defend themselves: from the Mafia and the forces of order, from their collaborators, traitors, and from the village's leaders, as they are assailed by murder attempts, false accusations, and false testimony. Through the tale of the Sacco brothers and what happens to the town of Raffadali, The Sacco Gang makes clear that not only does the mafia kill people, but it can also condition and irreparably devastate people's lives.

Chu's day at the beach
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Gaiman, Neil

Chu's day at the beach / Neil Gaiman ; illustrated by Adam Rex

New York : Harper, copyr. 2015

Abstract: A brand-new adventure for everyone's favorite sneezing panda, from the New York Times bestselling team of Neil Gaiman and Adam Rex. Chu and his family are going to the beach! Chu is excited. He will get to play in the sand and wade in the water. But what will happen if Chu sneezes at the beach? And what will happen if he doesn't?

Identical
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Turow, Scott

Identical / Scott Turow

New York : Grand Central, 2014

Fiction

Chu's day
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Gaiman, Neil

Chu's day / Neil Gaiman ; illustrated by Adam Rex

New York : Harper, copyr. 2013

Abstract: A New York Times bestselling picture book from Newbery Medal–winning author Neil Gaiman and acclaimed illustrator Adam Rex! Chu is a little panda with a big sneeze. When Chu sneezes, bad things happen. But as Chu and his parents visit the library, the diner, and the circus, will anyone hear Chu when he starts to feel a familiar tickle in his nose? Chu's Day is a story that reflects upon how young children aren't always listened to…sometimes to calamitous effect.

Dear life
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Munro, Alice

Dear life : stories / Alice Munro

New York : Vintage Internationa, copyr. 2012

Calico Joe
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Grisham, John

Calico Joe / John Grisham

New York : Random House Large print, copyr. 2012

Death's dark abyss
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Carlotto, Massimo

Death's dark abyss / Massimo Carlotto ; translated from the italian by Lawrence Venuti

New York : Europa editions, 2006

Abstract: A riveting drama of guilt, revenge, and justice, Massimo Carlotto’s Death’s Dark Abyss tells the story of two men and the savage crime that binds them. During a robbery, Raffaello Beggiato takes a young woman and her child hostage and later murders them. Beggiato is arrested, tried, and sentenced to life. The victims’ father and husband, Silvano, plunges into an ever-deepening abyss until the day, years later, when the murderer seeks his pardon and Silvano turns predator as he ruthlessly plots his revenge.

Kafka on the Shore
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Murakami, Haruki

Kafka on the Shore / Haruki Murakami ; translated from the Japanese by Philip Gabriel

New York : Vintage Books, 2005

Abstract: Here we meet a teenage boy, Kafka Tamura, who is on the run, and Nakata, an aging simpleton who is drawn to Kafka for reasons that he cannot fathom. As their paths converge, acclaimed author Haruki Murakami enfolds readers in a world where cats talk, fish fall from the sky, and spirits slip out of their bodies to make love or commit murder, in what is a truly remarkable journey.

Little earthquakes
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Weiner, Jennifer

Little earthquakes : a novel / Jennifer Weiner

New York : Washington Square Press, 2005

Fiction

Abstract: In Jennifer Weiner's richest, wittiest, most true-to-life novel yet, this highly acclaimed storyteller brings readers a tale of romance, friendship, forgiveness, and extreme sleep deprivation, as three very different women navigate one of life's most wonderful and perilous transitions: the journey of new motherhood. Rebecca Rothstein-Rabinowitz is a plump, sexy chef who has a wonderful husband, supportive friends, a restaurant that's received citywide acclaim, a beautiful baby girl...and the mother-in-law from hell. Kelly Day's life looks picture-perfect. But behind the doors of her largely empty apartment, she's struggling to balance work and motherhood and marriage, while entering Oliver's every move (and movement) on a spreadsheet, and dealing with an unemployed husband who seems content to channel-surf for eight hours a day. And Ayinde Towne is already on shaky ground, trying to live her life to the letter of a how-to guide called "Baby Success, " when her basketball superstar husband breaks her trust at the most vulnerable moment in her life, putting their marriage in peril -- and their new family even more in the public eye. Then there's Lia Frederick, a Philadelphia native who has just come home, leaving Los Angeles behind, along with her glamorous Hollywood career, her husband, and a tragic secret, to start her life all over again.

The time traveler's wife /Audry Niffenegger
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Niffenegger, Audrey

The time traveler's wife /Audry Niffenegger

Orlando : Harcourt, 2004

Abstract: A dazzling novel in the most untraditional fashion, this is the remarkable story of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who travels involuntarily through time, and Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare's passionate love affair endures across a sea of time and captures the two lovers in an impossibly romantic trap, and it is Audrey Niffenegger's cinematic storytelling that makes the novel's unconventional chronology so vibrantly triumphant. An enchanting debut and a spellbinding tale of fate and belief in the bonds of love, The Time Traveler's Wife is destined to captivate readers for years to come.

Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourne in The Bourne legacy
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Van Lustbader, Eric

Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourne in The Bourne legacy : a novel / by Eric Van Lustbader

New York ; St.Martin's press, 2004

Gilead
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Robinson, Marilynne

Gilead / Marilynne Robinson

New York : Picador, 2004

Abstract: Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

ˆThe ‰rules of engagement
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Brookner, Anita

ˆThe ‰rules of engagement : a novel / Anita Brookner

New York : Vintage Books, 2003

Vintage contemporaries

Less than zero
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Ellis, Bret Easton

Less than zero / Bret Easton Ellis

New York : Vintage Books, 1998

Vintage contemporaries

The informers
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Ellis, Bret Easton

The informers / Bret Easton Ellis

New York : Vintage books, 1995

Vintage contemporaries

Smilla's sense of snow
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Hoeg, Peter

Smilla's sense of snow / Peter Hoeg ; translated by Tiina Nunnally

New York : Delta Trade Paperbacks, 1995

Abstract: She thinks more highly of snow and ice than she does of love. She lives in a world of numbers, science and memories--a dark, exotic stranger in a strange land. And now Smilla Jaspersen is convinced she has uncovered a shattering crime... It happened in the Copenhagen snow. A six-year-old boy, a Greenlander like Smilla, fell to his death from the top of his apartment building. While the boy's body is still warm, the police pronounce his death an accident. But Smilla knows her young neighbor didn't fall from the roof on his own. Soon she is following a path of clues as clear to her as footsteps in the snow. For her dead neighbor, and for herself, she must embark on a harrowing journey of lies, revelation and violence that will take her back to the world of ice and snow from which she comes, where an explosive secret waits beneath the ice....

ˆThe ‰pillars of the earth
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

Follett, Ken

ˆThe ‰pillars of the earth / Ken Follett

New York : William Morrow, 1989

The call of the Wild
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

London, Jack

The call of the Wild ; White Fang / by Jack London ; with an introduction by Abraham Rothberg

New York : Bantam Books, 1981

A Bantam classic

James Joyceʼs Ulysses
0 0
Materiale linguistico moderno

James Joyceʼs Ulysses : critical essays / edited by Clive Hart and David Hayman

Berkeley : University of California press, 1977

Abstract: This book contains eighteen original essays by leading Joyce scholars on the eighteen separate chapters of Ulysses. It attempts to explore the richness of Joyce's extraordinary novel more fully than could be done by any single scholar. Joyce's habit of using, when writing each chapter in Ulysses, a particular style, tone, point of view, and narrative structure gives each contributor a special set of problems with which to engage, problems which coincide in every case with certain of his special interests. The essays in this volume complement and illuminate one another to provide the most comprehensive account yet published of Joyce's many-sided masterpiece.