Affiche tous: Aucun des filtres suivants
× Date 2014
× Noms De Gregori, Francesco
× Sujet Automi - Impiego nelle relazioni pubbliche - Tesi
× Pays gb
× Noms Orecchia, Giulia
× Langues ita
× Langues fre
Affiche tous: Tous les filtres suivants
× Date 2017

Trouvés 3 documents.

The invisible mile
0 0
Livres modernes

Coventry, David

The invisible mile / David Coventry

New York : Europa, 2020

Résumé: A re-imagining of a true story, The Invisible Mile is a novel about the capacity of the human mind and body when stretched to their absolute limits, written in prose that calls to mind the works of Marilynne Robinson and John Banville, as well as Colson Whitehead’s National Book Award-winning novel The Underground Railroad. In 1928, the Ravat-Wonder cycling team became the first English-speaking peloton to compete in the Tour de France. The riders, from faraway New Zealand and Australia, were treated as exotics and isolated from their surroundings by a thick barrier of language and culture. Underfinanced and undertrained, the team faced one of the toughest routes in the race’s history, 5,476 kilometers over unsealed roads through a landscape heavy with the legacy of the Great War. 162 cyclists began the race that year, only 42 finished. A deeply introspective and spiritual book, The Invisible Mile is narrated by a fictional rider from the Ravat-Wonder team. Speaking no French and knowing a scant few of his fellow riders, his race becomes a confrontation with memories of the Great War and a quest to understand his own place amongst its history. He rides on the alternating highs of cocaine and opium, pain and pleasure, victory and defeat. And as he nears the northern battlefields and his last, invisible mile, trauma, exertion, and his personal demons take over. The Invisible Mile is the story of one man’s struggle for survival in the face of physical and psychological hardship, a profoundly human story about guilt and redemption.

Don't let go
0 0
Livres modernes

Bussi, Michel

Don't let go / Michel Bussi ; translated from the French by Sam Taylor

New York : Europa, 2017

Résumé: From the bestselling author of After the Crash, “a novel so extraordinary it reminded me of reading Stieg Larsson for the first time.”—Sunday Times Holidaying in an idyllic resort on the island of Réunion, wealthy Parisians Martial and Liane Bellion are enjoying the perfect family moment with their six-year-old daughter. Turquoise skies, clear water, palm trees, a warm breeze. Then Liane Bellion disappears from her hotel room. The door to her room is open, the walls and sheets are spotted with blood. A hotel employee swears he saw Martial in the corridor at the time Liane went missing, and he becomes the number one suspect. But then Martial also disappears, along with his daughter. An all-out manhunt is declared across the island. Could Martial really have killed his wife? For fans of Gone Girl and The Fugitive, Bussi’s fast-paced, atmospheric thriller does not disappoint.

Suburra
0 0
Livres modernes

Bonini, Carlo - De Cataldo, Giancarlo

Suburra / Carlo Bonini & Giancarlo De Cataldo ; translated fron the Italian by Antony Shugaar

New York : Europa, 2017

World noir

Résumé: In Ostia, a depressed coastal settlement twenty miles from the powerful and corrupt city of Rome, a mighty local crime family, the Mafia, corrupt politicians, and new rabid criminal elements battle each other for a billion-dollar payoff. During the final days of Silvio Berlusconi's reign, a massive development proposal that will turn Ostia into a gambling paradise, a Las Vegas on the Mediterranean, is winding its way through the Italian legislature thanks to the sponsorship of politicians in the pay of crime syndicates with vested interests. In short, it's business as usual in the Italian capital. But a vicious gang of local thugs loyal to nobody but themselves is insisting on a bigger cut than agreed upon. They argue their case quite convincingly, but the Mafia and their political puppets aren't likely to back down without a fight. De Cataldo and Bonini have created a compelling, provocative portrait of contemporary Rome--a city prey to pitiless criminal factions and political opportunism. A fast-paced and atmospheric work of crime fiction, Suburra rivals the best novels by writers such as Denis Lehane, Richard Price, and George Pelecanos, and successful series like The Wire and The Night Of.