Affiche tous: Aucun des filtres suivants
× Date 2014
× Pays de
× Noms Walt Disney Productions
× Materiel 3
× Sujet Genere: Giallo
× Sujet Genere: Thriller
× Noms Mattolin, Giampietro
× Noms Capel, Annette
Affiche tous: Tous les filtres suivants
× Date 2015
× Niveau m
× Langues eng
× Materiel 1

Trouvés 7 documents.

The pathless sky
0 0
Livres modernes

Sen, Chaitali

The pathless sky / Chaitali Sen

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: In The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation’s political turmoil, its secret history and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all cost. A world not unlike the one we live in. John, a hapless young student with a potentially brilliant academic career ahead of him, and Mariam, a shy, preternaturally perceptive woman from the north, meet and fall in love in college. Their early careers, their seemingly mismatched natures, and the alarming changes occurring in their country conspire to keep them apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize that they have always loved each other. During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been white washed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John’s love will prove potentially dire for both. The Pathless Sky is a haunting and moving novel for readers of Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient, Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Lowland, and the novels of Amitav Ghosh. Sen’s lyrical language and fluid storytelling mirror the rhythms of political struggle itself. John and Mariam are unforgettable characters, troubled lovers who struggle to find a space for the finest human emotions in a place that is determined to abolish them.

The Ugly Duckling
0 0
Livres modernes

Andersen, Hans Christian

The Ugly Duckling / by H. C. Andersen ; retold by Natasha Borgars ; illustrated by Francesco Barbieri

Monte San Vito : Raffaello, copyr. 2015

Smart readers. Level 1

Résumé: Nella fattoria tutti deridono il Brutto Anatroccolo, perché è grigio, grande e goffo e così diverso dagli altri. Dopo un inverno difficile in viaggio qua e là, in primavera il Brutto Anatroccolo scoprirà la sua verità. LEVEL 1 - per chi muove i primi passi nella lettura in lingua inglese.

Everland
0 0
Livres modernes

Hunt, Rebecca

Everland / Rebecca Hunt

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: 1913. Dinners, Millet-Bass, and Napps—three explorers bound not by friendship, but by a dependence founded on survival—volunteer to leave their ship, the Kismet, and scout an uncharted and unknown island in the Antarctic, which Napps names “Everland.” While all three are enticed by the promise of adventure and reward, they are immortalized by the disastrous outcome of the expedition, their stories preserved for posterity. 2012. Brix, Jess, and Decker—three researchers with their own reasons for being so far from home—set out on a centenary field trip to survey the same island. Their equipment is more advanced than the previous group’s, and their purpose more scientific, but the harsh weather of Everland remains an unpredictable and deadly force: the adventure and the danger are inescapable. Under the harsh ultraviolet light of a sun which doesn’t set, and isolated from the world, they begin to echo the expedition of a hundred years ago. History, it seems, has a way of repeating itself—when theirs is written, what will it say?

The world is a wedding
0 0
Livres modernes

Jones, Wendy

The world is a wedding : in wich the unexpected nature of reality surprises Mister Wilfred Price / Wendy Jones

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: Set in 1926, two years after the end of The Thoughts and Happenings of Wilfred Price, Purveyor of Superior Funerals, Wendy Jones’ The World is a Wedding finds Wilfred Price married to Flora Myfanwy and trying to be the perfect husband. His efforts only intensify when he learns that Flora is expecting. But something doesn’t feel right to Flora: she doesn’t feel at home. Meanwhile, Grace (to whom Wilfred was very briefly married before he met Flora) has fled Narberth for London, trying to escape what has happened to her and the secret she carries because of it. But secrets are not so easily escaped—and Grace’s will affect Wilfred and Flora, too. A sophisticated comedy of manners, The World is a Wedding captures life in a small town in Wales and explores the complexities of marriage, motherhood, and masculinity and femininity with equal wit and insight.

I regret everything
0 0
Livres modernes

Greenland, Seth

I regret everything : a love story / Seth Greenland

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: Life is an often-confusing mixture of heartache and hilarity, or so prove Seth Greenland’s appealing characters in this tenderly comedic story of modern love. Imbued with Greenland’s signature wit, I Regret Everything confronts the oceanic uncertainty of what it means to be young and alive. Jeremy Best, a Manhattan-based trusts and estates lawyer, has a second life as the poet Jinx Bell. To his boss’s daughter, Spaulding, Jeremy, at 33, is at first, already halfway to dead. When Spaulding, an aspiring 19-year-old writer, discovers Mr. Best’s alter writerly ego, the two become bound by a devotion to poetry. Their budding relationship offers them the possibility of enduring love, or the threat of tragic loss. A skilled wordsmith with a talent for telling humor, Greenland creates fully realized characters, people that come to understand themselves as complex renderings of the human condition—at its often best, and sometimes worst. I Regret Everything explores happiness and heartache with a healthy dose of skepticism, and an understanding that the reality of love encompasses life, death, iambic pentameter, regret, trusts and estates.

Mayumi and the sea
0 0
Livres modernes

Tseng, Jennifer

Mayumi and the sea / Jennifer Tseng

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: Books may be Mayumi Saito’s greatest love and her one source of true pleasure. Forty-one years old, disenchanted wife and dutiful mother, Mayumi’s work as a librarian on a small island off the coast of New England feeds her passion for reading and provides her with many occasions for wry observations on human nature, but it does little to remedy the mundanity of her days. That is, until the day she issues a library card to a shy seventeen-year-old boy and swiftly succumbs to a sexual obsession that subverts the way she sees the library, her family, the island she lives on, and ultimately herself. Wary of the consequences of following through on her fantasies, Mayumi hesitates at first. But she cannot keep the young man from her thoughts. After a summer of overlong glances and nervous chitchat in the library, she finally accepts that their connection is undeniable. In a sprawling house emptied of its summer vacationers, their affair is consummated and soon consolidated thanks to an explosive charge of erotic energy. Mayumi’s life is radically enriched by the few hours each week that she shares with the young man, and as their bond grows stronger thanks not only to their physical closeness but also to their long talks about the books they both love, those hours spent apart seem to Mayumi increasingly bleak and intolerable. As her obsession worsens, in a frantic attempt to become closer to the young man, Mayumi nervously befriends another librarian patron, the young man’s mother. The two women forge a tenuous friendship that will prove vital to both in the most unexpected ways when catastrophe strikes. Exquisitely written, Mayumi and the Sea of Happiness is part wry confession, part serious meditation. At its most anxious, it’s a book about time, at its most ecstatic, it’s a deeply human story about pleasure.

Hollow heart
0 0
Livres modernes

Di Grado, Viola

Hollow heart / Viola Di Grado ; translated from the Italien by Anthony Shugaar

New York : Europa, 2015

Résumé: A courageous, inventive, and intelligent novel from the author of 70% Acrylic 30% Wool In this courageous, inventive, and intelligent novel, Viola di Grado tells the story of a suicide and what follows. She has given voice to an astonishing vision of life after life, portraying the awful longing and sense of loss that plague the dead, together with the solitude provoked by the impossibility of communicating. The afterlife itself is seen as a dark, seething place where one is preyed upon by the cruel and unrelenting elements. The Hollow Heart will frighten as it provokes, enlighten as it causes concern. If ever there were a novel that follows Kafka’s prescription for a book to be a axe for the frozen sea within us, it is the Hollow Heart.